I am ….

… blessed and thankful, loved and oh so very much in love. It has taken me a while to be able to sit and try to say what I want to say here. I still do not know if I can, but like so much in my existence, I do have to attempt this.

July 4th, 2009: I was “gifted” with a post in the love of my life’s blog that she had written some time ago. It brought tears to my eyes the first time I read it on that day. Silently I sat here, stinging eyes scanning the screen before me. What the words there, that had flowed from her heart to her fingers said to me, I cannot begin to describe. If I did not know it then (which, as a matter of fact, I did, without a doubt), I am very much loved. The emotion that poured like a raging river from those words sent me tumbling back, as I’m certain she knew it would and had for her too, down memory lane.

If you didn’t see the entry I am referring to, you can find it here.

July 15th, 2009: Relay For Life of SecondLife draws closer, Saturday will soon be here and I find myself in an emotional mish-mash. This is the first year I have had my “own” RFL team and I am so very proud of each and every one of them. At the same time, I stand looking at the campsite on the RFL Unity sim and I can’t help but remember all the friends and ACS acquaintances that have passed over. I wonder why I am here and they are not. Did I fight harder? Had they touched the quota of lives they were meant to touch?

People have been asked to give a brief reason for why they relay. I show people all year long why I relay, I hope. To me, finding a cure is a possibility. Educating people is a must. We all must be aware. But let me tell you why I relay.

I relay for all those beautiful people who have passed over before me, for those who touched someone’s life and like Midas, turned it to gold. I relay for future generations, so that if they ever find themselves sitting in a surgeon’s office hearing the words “You’ve got cancer”, the next words they hear will be “but there is a cure”. I relay because I can. I relay to celebrate being blessed with a second chance to live. I relay because what I do may inspire others to do the same. I relay for names you would recognize and others that you would not. But most of all, I relay for life. A wondrous gift.

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am ….

  1. Angelika says:

    And I, among many, are glad you can relay!!!

  2. Aryon says:

    *smiles softly* Thank you, Angelika.

Leave a Reply

