Book Munch: A Civil War Trilogy

As a passionate student of American History particularly the Civil War era, I wanted to bring to your attention a wonderful trilogy I am just completing.

The books were written by Newt Gingrich who served as Speaker of the United States House of Representatives from 1995 until 1999, and William R Forstchen, an American author and Professor of History at Montreat College in North Carolina.

While these books are categorized as novels and therefore deemed fictional, they are based on fact with a twist of fate added. By this, I mean that the names of the officers for both the North and the South have not been changed. Perhaps, some of the enlisted names are factual too, but I have no verification of this.

The trilogy begins in July 1863, as both North and South arrive as the mass junction town of Gettysburg and ends in November 1863. We follow Robert E. Lee, George Meade and their armies into battle. Breathe in the smell of gunpowder, hear the moans and screams of the wounded, duck out of the way of mini balls and struggle to charge up Little Round Top. Experience in your minds eye the day to day life of soldiers, officers and civilians and ponder what it would have been like to have lived through it.

Gingrich and Forstchen raise the question, “could the South have won?” and leave the reader wondering how the United States would be now if they had.

A good read for history buffs and readers who want an action-packed read.

Book 1: Gettysburg

Book 2: Grant Comes East

Book 3: Never Call Retreat

This entry was posted in Book Munch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s