“These are the voyages ….”

I absolutely love Star Trek. Whether it is the original series which made its television debut in 1966 and remained on air for three seasons or any of the other five ‘spin offs’ (I included the animated series here), they all have something special to offer. As well as the various series, there have been, to date, eleven films, the twelfth is in production.

It is my opinion that most ‘Trekkies’ as aficionados of Star Trek are called, have a favourite series. I know I do. In fact, I have two … Star Trek: The Next Generation and Star Trek: Voyager. Where the films are concerned, Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home, Star Trek VII: Generations (purely for the opening holodeck sequence), Star Trek VIII: First Contact and the latest contribution entitled simply Star Trek are my absolute favourites.

By the way, did you know that Chris Pine will be warpping onto the big screen again as Captain James Tiberius Kirk in a second film? IMDB.com says as yet it is untitled and gives 2012 as the premiere date. I don’t know about the rest of you, but I am really looking forward to that.

I have just watched for about the tenth time, this latest film and I am so impressed by the casting. The actors bore striking resemblance to the Kirk and Spock of old and Bones and Scotty, Sulu, Chekov and Uhura may not have reminded us look-wise of the ‘original’ crew but they did their studies and had the quirks of those characters.

I must however comment on Spock in the 2009 film. I was stunned to find out that he ‘had a thing’ with Uhura especially considering that at times he was known to curse his duality. That is to say the fact that his father Sarek was Vulcan but his mother Amanda was from Earth.

But … I am not going to psychoanalyze characters. Gene Roddenberry, the Great Bird of the Galaxy created them and he knew what he was doing (may he rest in peace). I only wanted to sing praises for a series of television shows, movies and books that have, for the past 45 years continued to entertain me in a way that no other show, movie or book has.

Thank you Star Trek and thank you Gene.

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

