Insanity at the Royal Mail Post Office

Yes, the title is the best one I could think of. It takes in several things that I have noticed … not only this week but over the last few years regarding the Royal Mail. The Royal Mail, as its name implies is the postal service for the United Kingdom. While I am sure they have ‘some’ good points, in my opinion, they are outweighed by the bad ones.

Their complaint system should be nonexistent since it is so difficult to lodge one and if you do manage to place your complaint, you receive what is known as a ‘form’ email stating that it has been received and is being passed on the the correct department and that someone will be in touch. Having lodged several complaints regarding the continual delivery of mail to the incorrect address … when it is clearly written on the envelope or package and leads one to believe that the deliverers cannot read or simply do not care … I still have not been contacted.

Now, I am left wondering why a Post Office has somewhere in the region of eight service windows and only four people working yet the line of customers is out the door. Is it the pre-Christmas rush I hear you ask … no, just an average weekday and not even the proverbial lunchtime rush … the time when those at work dash out to post a letter or package or the like.

While I am disabled, some days are worse than others and when I spend a long time on my feet, pain can and does increase. Today was no different so by the time I got to the counter to be served, I was bent over trying to ease a spasm in my lumbar region and craving nothing but my pain-killers and an hour in my recliner. Then, I placed the package on the scale and told the clerk where its destination was and then … I nearly passed out. No, it wasn’t from my bodily discomfort, but from the cost of mailing a package that weighed between 1 and 2 kilograms.

The following is a statement found on page 3 of a pdf file posted on the Royal Mail Group website and shows clearly how much profit was made during the 2013 fiscal year. I cannot wait to see the financial report for the 2014 fiscal year.

Royal Mail Group Limited
Preliminary special purpose results for the 53 week year ended 31 March 2013

“We are reporting a strong financial performance – our strategy is delivering. On a like-for-like basis, Group revenue was mup five per cent. Operating profit after transformation costs increased from £152 million to £403 million, on an adjusted basis, generating £334 million of free cash flow. Importantly,
operating profit margin after transformation costs increased from 1.7 per cent to
4.4 per cent on a like-for-like basis.

“Parcels are a major contributor to Group revenue, accounting for almost half. In UKPIL, parcel revenue grew 13 per cent and letter revenue was up three per cent
on a like-for-like basis. Our position as the UK’s Universal Service Provider,
alongside our strong brand, extensive networks and high quality of service, makes us well placed to benefit from our leading position in the parcels market.”

Moya Greene, Chief Executive Officer, Royal Mail Group

I am certainly not surprised at the increase in profit. Especially when it costs more to mail a package weighing less than 2.5 kilograms to cities in Europe than it costs to fly there and deliver it yourself … in some cases. Personally, I don’t think I would mind if along with the increase of prices, the service improved … but it doesn’t.

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

